Planning

For many years I didn’t plan my books. I used to sit down in front of a notepad and expect a story to, well I suppose to magically appear on the page. I’d sit there, often with a sense of dread as the words didn’t flow trying to force my way through the process of writing. I remember reading Stephen King’s intro to The Stand when I was maybe eleven or twelve. Hey I was an odd kid and I knew back then I wanted to be a writer. In it I remember him talking about the process of writing for him. He sumarised it as

“Get an idea, write it down, get another idea, write it down and continue until you’ve got a book.” *

At the time Stephen was, and still is, one of the most successful writers of our time. I was an impressionable eleven year old. I took Stephens word as gospel.

I think it took me another fifteen years of sitting in front of notebooks and expecting the stories to just arrive on the page to come to conclusion that probably wasn’t what Stephen meant and I needed to plan.

Planning hasn’t come easy to me. I’ve experimented with various ways over the years. I’ve read books and articles on the subject. I’ve tried many different methods and styles. It’s only recently that I’ve realised that rather than following some expert or others model for how to plan the perfect novel I should find my own. After all I’m the guy who’s going to be writing this book!

I started out with the beats model of planning put forward by the guys at the Self Publishing Podcast in their excellent book Write Publish Repeat. I played around with it some over the course of starting, and dropping, a few novels and I feel I’ve really made it my own. The results?

Well as I sit here now in the time since my last blog post I’ve planned out the complete novel. That’s a major achievement in its self. But there’s more! I’ve planned the overall structure of the novel but I’m also about two thirds of the way through planning out the individual chapters. I now have a really good idea of where I’m heading with this book. More than that I’ve already identified areas where the story lacked something in the planning stage and I’ve taken measures to improve it.

Currently I’m a days, maybe two at the most, work away from finishing a detailed chapter plan. Then I’m ready to start writing with a clear set of guideposts to show me where I’m going.

I can’t tell you how excited that makes me feel.

*That’s a quote from the memory of an eleven year old from twenty five years ago. I offer no guarantee to its accuracy.

Standard

Leave a comment